top of page

50k all the Way!

Yesterday brought my word count up to the seemingly elusive 50,000. I had hoped to rein in the story and get the characters to cooperate enough to end it at 50k, but as usual, they have other ideas. Probably looking at around another 7-10k before I wrap it up.

I owe my success for getting this far to Savvy Authors Boot Camp, because the drive to write 50k was illuminated by the fact that I paid $10 to participate. I wanted it to be money well spent instead of letting myself down and not making the goal. Obvious the last couple of times I attempted NaNoWriMo, I failed miserably. This time, I come in before my due date with the required words and I feel really good about the story.

Here's a crap-tastic blurb:

A woman on the run...

Adelaide Kemp-Houghton witnessed the murder of her husband one dark night, and in order to save herself, she's abandoned everything she's ever known. Her refuge is tucked away in a small Arkansas town. There, she'll begin a new life under an assumed name: Della Brown.

A man in need...

Lo Bonham's world turned upside down the day his sister abandoned his young niece. Bringing up Raisie wasn't a challenge until she turned into a rebellious teenager. His house is in discord and if he doesn't find a solution, they may both end up in jail. When he meets Della, the problem seems likely to resolve in a matter of weeks as Raisie takes to her private, mousy companion. Lo can't help being drawn to Della either, even if she is hiding a deep secret.

The hunt for a missing heiress...

Della shouldn't let Lo and his niece make her feel so at home, but she's fast falling for the man known as the local Lothario. When Della's past is exposed, the two men trying to track her down arrive in Sawyer's Folly. One wants to kill her, one wants her for personal gain. Even with Lo backing her, will Della ever be safe again?

It's rough and (exceptionally crap-tastic), but that's the gist of it. While I was thinking another 10k is like dragging my feet, on the other hand, it's 10k. That's a piece of cake considering it's the black moment and resolution. The middle and begining are done. Woohoo! It's all downhill now.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page